The Bessies






The Bessie 2015 Cocktail Party and Press Conference

The Bessies Steering Committee: Cora Cahan, Beverly D'Anne, Lane Harwell, Judy Hussie-Taylor, Stanford Makishi, Carla Peterson, Laurie Uprichard, and Martin Wechsler, invites you to The Bessie Cocktail Party on Wednesday, July 15th at 5pm, folled by the Bessie Press Conference at 6pm. Come raise a glass to this year's nominees for the 2015 NY Dance and Performance "Bessie" Awards. Two special awards will be presented: The Bessies Juried Award, and the 2015 Bessie for Emerging Choreographer.

For tickets to the Cocktail Party at 5pm, please click here. The Press Conference begins at 6pm.

Be sure not to miss this 6th annual festive "dance family" gathering!



2014 Bessie Award Ceremony

Big Daddy's Salsa Fling band will play live from 6:30 to 7:30 before the show begins. The bar will be open with food and drink for sale. So come early and get the party started!

Bessie recognized artists from the awards' 30 year history, and some very special guests, will present awards at this year's ceremony on Monday October 20th at 7:30 at Harlem's Apollo Theater. Tickets available here.

Host Lisa Kron will be joined by Robert Battle, Faye Driscoll, Karen Finley, Crazy Legs, Virginia Johnson, Jessye Norman, Tere O'Connor, Omagbitse Omagbemi, Miki Orihara, Annie-B Parson, Lenny Pickett, Ken Swift,  and Wendy Whelan. There will be live performances from three decades of Bessie-recognized work by Mark Morris (1984), Urban Bush Women (1992), Circus Amok (1995), and Michelle Dorrance (2011). 

Arthur Mitchell to receive 2014 NY Dance and Performance Award for Lifetime Achievement in Dance. Dr. Chuck Davis to receive 2014 NY Dance and Performance Award for Outstanding Service to the Field of Dance. For more on these special awards, click here

Tickets start at $10, get yours today!

2014 Nominations

Outstanding Production Nominees (four awards will be presented)

Asase Yaa African American Dance Theatre Djembe in the New Millennium Kumble Theater for the Performing Arts

Camille A. Brown Mr. TOL E. RAncE Produced by 651 Arts at Kumble Theater for the Performing Arts

Mallory Catlett This Was the End The Chocolate Factory

Liz Gerring Glacier Peak Performances at Montclair State University

Maria Hassabi Premiere The Kitchen

John Jasperse Within between New York Live Arts

Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker En Atendant/Cesena Brooklyn Academy of Music

Akram Khan Desh White Light Festival, Lincoln Center

Sarah Michelson 4 Whitney Museum of American Art

MIMULUS Cia de Danca Dolores The Joyce

Okwui Okpokwasili in collaboration with Peter Born Bronx Gothic Danspace Project

Aki Sasamoto Sunny in the Furnace The Kitchen


Outstanding Revival (one award will be presented)

Dark Swan by Nora Chipaumire The Joyce

Myth or Meth (or Maybe Moscow?) by Radiohole; Tom Murrin Full Moon Performance Festival at La MaMa

State of Heads by Donna Uchizono New York Live Arts

Bach Partita by Twyla Tharp American Ballet Theatre


Outstanding Performer (four awards will be presented)

Maggie Cloud in Passagen by Pam Tanowitz

Sean Donovan in the work of Witness Relocation, Jane Comfort, Faye Driscoll, and others

Julia Hausermann in Disabled Theater by Jerome Bel and Theater HORA

Sean Jackson in We Used to Hold by Lisa LaTouche as part of Rhythm in Motion

Mickey Mahar in the work of Miguel Gutierrez, Adrienne Truscott, Ryan McNamara, and Gillian Walsh

Angela "Angel" McNeal for her hip hop battle improvisations at Harlem Stage E-Moves 15 Battle

Sara Mearns, New York City Ballet

Aakash Odedra in James Brown, Get on the Good Foot, A Celebration in Dance organized and shaped by Otis Sallid at the Apollo Theater

Tiler Peck, New York City Ballet

Rebecca Serrell Cyr in Fire Underground by Donna Uchizono

Linda Celeste Sims, Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater

Stuart Singer in Within between by John Jasperse


Outstanding Music Composition/Sound Design

Simphiwe Dana, Giuliano Modarelli, and Complete Quartet for Exit/Exist choreographed by Gregory Maqoma

G. Lucas Crane for This Was the End created by Mallory Catlett

Steven Taylor for Aubade choreographed by Douglas Dunn

Nicholas Young for his inventive tap 'percussion platforms' in Rhythm in Motion


Outstanding Visual Design

Thomas Dunn for New Work for the Desert by Beth Gill

Avram Finkelstein, Kathy Morganroth, and Jenny Mui of YMX by Yellowman; Patricia Forelle; Tamara Gonzales; and Nicholas Vermeer, Olivia Barr, and William Ward of NYC Resistor for Vectors, Marys, and Snow by Brooklyn Ballet

Peter Ksander, Olivera Gajic, Ryan Holsopple, Chris Kuhl, and Keith Skretch for This Was the End by Mallory Catlett

Tim Yip for Desh by Akram Khan


Outstanding Emerging Choreographer (* indicates the recipients, previously announced at July press conference)

Gillian Walsh
HasbroTM Procedures
The Kitchen

Jen Rosenblit*
a Natural dance
The Kitchen

Jessica Lang* 
In recognition for the formation of her own company
The Joyce

Rashida Bumbray
The Little Red Rooster in a Red House
Harlem Stage E-Moves Festival

30th Annual The New York Dance and Performance Awards | The Bessies 2014

Monday October 20th, 2014 The Apollo Theater hosted the 30th Annual The New York Dance and Performance Awards: The Bessies 2014!…

The Bessies Breaking News

The Bessies Breaking News

30th Bessie Awards Monday October 20th at the Apollo!…


Darrell Jones Receives Third Annual Juried Bessie Award

The New York Dance and Performance Awards (The Bessies), NYC'ss premier dance awards honoring outstanding creative work in the field, announces Darrell Jones as the third annual recipient of the Juried Bessie Award.…


Joanna Kotze Named 2013 Bessie Award Recipient For Outstanding Emerging Choreographer

The Bessies, NYC's premiere dance awards honoring outstanding creative work in the field, announces Joanna Kotze as the recipient of the 2013 New York Dance and Performance Award for Outstanding Emerging Choreographer.…


The Bessies Awards Announce 2012-2013 Nominees

The New York Dance and Performance Awards (The Bessies), NYC's premier dance awards honoring outstanding creative work in the field, announced today the 40 nominees for the 2012-13 season.…


You're Invited: The Bessies Cocktail Party!

The Bessie Awards Steering Committee: Cora Cahan, Beverly D'Anne, Lane Harwell, Judy Hussie-Taylor, Carla Peterson, Laurie Uprichard, Martin Wechsler, and Reggie Wilson, invite you to an evening of cocktails and hors d' oeuvres on Wednesday, July 17…


Save the date: Bessie Ceremony and Bessie Press Conference dates announced!

Please save the date for this year's Bessie events! The Bessie Press Conference and Cocktail Party will take place on Wednesday, July 17th, location TBA. The Bessie Awards ceremony will take place on Monday,…


The 2012 Bessies: New York Dance and Performance Award Recipients

The Bessies: New York Dance and Performance Awards Monday October 15, 2012 at 8 pm Apollo Theater 253 W. 125th Street PROGRAM: Hosted by Elizabeth Streb Special performances by Trisha Brown Dance…

Disability conference


Find More Dance Events

Disability Conference